Review: The City Harmonic – Introducing The City Harmonic


Kingsway

Released November 22 2010

Reviewed By Tyler Hess

What happens when a Brit-pop band thinks that they’re an indie rock band playing worship songs at a Summer camp?  You get The City Harmonic introducing themselves with gang vocals aplenty while showing off an ability to play outside the box of contemporary Christian worship music.

Introducing The City Harmonic is the debut EP for the band on Kingsway that starts off with “I Wonder”, a thoughtful track that features their ability to pull off a pulsating beat that pushes the listener forward through the process and the idea of what God has for us.  “Manifesto” follows that up with a declaration for God’s people to say Amen to.  Next up is “My God”, a humbled acceptance of God’s help in times of trouble.  “Coming My Way” leads off with a piano solo and transitions to an early 90’s pop song about being active in the Kingdom of Heaven while anticipating Heaven itself.  “I Am” is the closest thing to a traditional (in the contemporary sense) worship song as vocalist Elias Dummer belts out “My God, You are good, You are great, You are love”.  The City Harmonic closes off their introductory EP with a folksy tune in “What I Want” with the hope of knowing God Himself.

There are times when the captivity of my attention ebbs and flow, so there are dull moments, but never a time where the moody worship music doesn’t create an aura that will put the listener at ease.  This genre crossing music does just the trick for combining relaxed music, but fervent worship of our God.

Grade: B

Tracklisting:

  1. I Wonder
  2. Manifesto
  3. My God
  4. Coming My Way
  5. I Am
  6. What I Want
3 responses to “Review: The City Harmonic – Introducing The City Harmonic

  1. david November 22, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    nice review.. you convinced me to buy this

  2. Tyler Hess November 22, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    I hope I don’t disappoint you like I did with HOH hahaha…but this might actually be up your alley

  3. david November 22, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    i previewed it on amazon
    dig it

Leave a Reply

