Editorial: Powerful Living


 

As I sit here, I’m relaxing on a nice, comfortable love seat at home, with my feet kicked up and crossed, while the fan creates a nice breeze to help me settle in.  Part of me really wishes it were always this way, but that isn’t how this life works for most of us.  Today was a day like any other, in that God was proving what He said in Hebrews 4:12, that “the word of God is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.”

Sometimes when we read the Bible, we think it is just a bunch of stories and instructions on how to live our lives in general, not that what we read today will really have any relation to what we will particularly experience in that same day, but rather what we will experience in general.  It just so happens that the pastor of our church here in Kauai, Bob Hallman of Calvary Chapel Kauai, spoke in a recent teaching about how that is not necessarily the case.  It also just so happens that what I read in my devotional time with God this morning was something that God used for what I was to go through just a few hours later.

I read Daniel chapter 3 today and I recently started journaling my thoughts on my daily readings as I go along.  Daniel 3 tells about the well known time when Daniel’s 3 friends were tossed into a fiery furnace for not bowing down to a false God, but they were protected by God and did not die, nor were they even harmed.  I wrote down what I observed, which is that they were not protected from that trial, but that they were protected within the trial.  They could have died, and were even willing to die, for what was right.

What did this have to do with me?  Well, today was supposed to be my last day of work at my current job.  This has been a trying time for my wife and I as it was, as we were preparing to move from Kauai in just one week, so we had been under some pressure already to pack all of our belongings that we are taking with us and sell some other things.  One of the things that we had left to sell was something big, which was our car.  Well, apparently last night we left a door open, which drained the battery.  We got it started without a problem, though, so we headed to work.  On the way, I was forced to slam on my breaks at a sudden red light, which caused the breaks to have issues, which somehow caused the gas pedal to have issues, which all somehow related to us having a dying battery.  We got to my work, but we knew something was wrong.  We stopped the car and couldn’t get it back to running.  I went into work and grabbed a jumper box and got it going, but I had to leave work because I wasn’t going to have my wife drive an unsafe car once I realized how bad it really was.

So at that point, not only could I not work my last day of work (meaning a little bit of earnings lost) and we had a dying car (meaning a little bit more lost).  The car was going though, sort of, so we drove it to the place of a mechanic that goes to our church, hoping to cut our losses.  To make a short story shorter, we sold it for cheap and had a friend come pick us up and bring us home.

What’s the point, other than a tale of woe is me?  That if I hadn’t read the story of Hananiah, Mishael and Azariah (their Jewish names, you probably know them by their Babylonian names, I just wanted to throw you off) I might have been stressed beyond my means of handling the situation or comforting my wife.  This was a difficult situation, but God comforted me with knowing that Jesus Christ was with us and that He will take care of us in this situation.  Most of all of us have some kind of financial issues from time to time, but we know that God will take care of us and that faith is what will bring us hope and comfort in the tough times.

God’s word speaks to us when we are willing to listen.  If you want a growing relationship with God, let Him speak to you through His Word.  You’re gonna need it.  I do.

-Tyler

One response to “Editorial: Powerful Living

  1. John Holcomb March 14, 2011 at 7:51 am

    I’ve meant to comment on this for the past couple days – just wanted to say this is well written! A wonderful example of the ever-relevant applicability of God’s word. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

