Previewing A Sample of FM Static’s “My Brain Says Stop, But My Heart Says Go”


Although much like many of the rest of you I am still anticipating hearing the fourth studio release from FM Static, the long time side project of two-thirds of Thousand Foot Krutch, I have given a listen to a handful of tracks, to dip my toes in the pool and see what the temperature is like on “My Brain Says Stop, But My Heart Says Go“.  I’ve already taken a look at the previous three albums in their discography, but what are we expecting out of this one?

The title track starts us off with a song that mixes a little bit of old school TFK rap/rock and a 90’s pop tune, showing off the diversity that the band mates have always had, while sticking with the youthful mindset of songwriting.

“F.M.S.T.A.T.I.C.” is not only the hardest song to type out thanks to those periods between every letter, but also serves as the next big cheerleading song with the opening chant.

If you can listen to the opening chorus of “(Hey) I Want It” and not sing it the rest of the week, you’re a better person than me.

“Lost In You” brings me back to the simplicity of FM Static’s debut album, which most people would agree is for the best.

“Last Train Home” is a ballad that wouldn’t surprise an FM Static fan one bit, with the sentimental lyricism that Trevor McNevan isn’t shy about producing.

Although this is just a sampling, it is pretty easy to see that FM Static’s new album will be just as fun as ever, with the only question remaining is how it will all work out continuity-wise for the album.  I guess we’ll hear it soon enough and judge.

Leave a Reply

