Full Review: Emery – We Do What We Want

Solid State Records

Released March 29 2011

Reviewed By Tyler Hess

Anytime rumors start swirling around a band that you love, it can be a scary thing.  With half of Emery’s unique dual vocals leaving the band and words like “heaviest album to date” and the band shifting over to Solid State Records, I really wasn’t sure what I was going to get when I first heard Emery’s fifth full length studio release, We Do What We Want.

It doesn’t take long to realize just why they were saying the album is so heavy, exploding from the beginning with “The Cheval Glass”, which for us dummies means a really tall mirror, as it takes a look at a life of vanity, while showing that Emery’s back and forth now consists more of a back and forth between Toby Morrell’s vocals and Josh Head’s screams.  The surprising venture into the heavier metal/hardcore styles continues strong for the next two tracks, “Scissors” and  “The Anchors”, before reversing course for the pop induced “The Curse of Perfect Days”.

After that is the more straight ahead rock song of “You Wanted It” that would have fit rather well on Emery’s In Shallow Seas We Sail.  For those who always look back to “Walls” from Emery’s debut album The Weak’s End are in for plenty of treats on this album, continuing with “I’m Not Here For Rage I’m Here For Revenge”, as screams lead into the polished clean vocals that Emery does possibly better than any other band in the scene.  Would you believe that Emery has some lyrics based on difficulties within relationships?  Such is the case in “Daddy’s Little Peach”, as the experimentation seen in Emery’s I’m Only A Man makes a comeback from time to time on We Do What We Want.

Now I know that every Emery fan has their own favorite style that the band plays, but I’m personally a big fan of The Question, so with that in mind my favorite part of this album is actually the last three tracks, though it is strong from start to finish.  The strong close begins with “Addicted to Bad Decisions” with The Question-esque alt-rock track, followed by the acoustic, sentimental, anti-suicide track of “I Never Got To See The West Coast”.  Finally, we have what amounts to a bold worship song for the scene, as “Fix Me” is addressed straight and plainly to God the Father and His Son Jesus Christ.

Emery’s We Do What We Want has everything that Emery fans could ever want, that is to say, if they are fans of everything Emery has ever done.  They have really mixed in everything that they have done before and put it together for one of their best albums, mixed with the most spiritual lyrics to date (and deep as ever), producing something to love for years to come.

Grade: 5


  1. The Cheval Glass
  2. Scissors
  3. The Anchors
  4. The Curse of Perfect Days
  5. You Wanted It
  6. I’m Not Here For Rage I’m Here For Revenge
  7. Daddy’s Little Peach
  8. Addicted To Bad Decisions
  9. I Never Got To See The West Coast
  10. Fix Me

11 responses to “Full Review: Emery – We Do What We Want

  1. Zsoty27 March 29, 2011 at 4:00 am

    I can completely agree with you, this album is absolutely amazing! It’s going to be one of my favorite album from them. I really enjoy when they have a heavy part in the song and right after there is a solid, melodic part. “I Never Got To See The West Coast”‘s lyrics is full with beautiful thoughts. In conclusion it’s a 10/9 record for me. =)

  2. Dan Allen March 29, 2011 at 8:53 am

    Just listened to it on AOL Music. Loved it! There were times when I had to stop and remind myself this was Emery!

  3. jthejust March 29, 2011 at 9:04 am

    Pretty excited to listen to this in a few hours!

  4. Tyler Hess March 29, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    so…basically you were never a real fan and still aren’t a real fan and didn’t give it a fair chance. got it. i understand. i do that with some stuff. it didnt sound like you listened past about the third or fourth song though.

  5. Eko March 29, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    its about as good as all of their other non shallow seas allbums

  6. jthejust April 2, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    This is in my top three Emery albums, with The Question and …In Shallow Seas We Sail.

  7. jthejust April 2, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    BTW Tyler, The Question is my favourite Emery album, like you, but the only song on WDWWW that I can’t seem to get into is Addicted To Bad Decisions. I hope it grows on me, though, because I love all the other songs. :)

  8. Seth April 3, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    GREAT ALBUM!!!!!

  9. David Green April 9, 2011 at 10:55 am

    I agree, this is a fantastic album. The only thing that was wrong in your review was that you said Josh Head does the screaming, when in fact Toby does over 90% of this band’s screaming in the studio (according to my sources). Josh mostly just screams at live shows.

  10. Tyler Hess April 9, 2011 at 11:36 am

    your sources are correct, considering that Toby said so himself in the absolutepunk chat a couple days ago…although technically he said that he did most of the screams, but both matt and josh screamed on the record as well…so…like…whatever :)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: