Review: Rebecca St. James – I Will Praise You


Reunion Records

Released April 5th 2011

Reviewed By Tyler Hess

For once, it does seem that long ago.  It seems like a long, long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away when I first heard Rebecca St. James.  Back in the day, when I was still in junior high school, Rebecca St. James burst onto the CCM scene around the time that I saw her at a Summer festival, in the mid-90’s.  She was like the Francesca Battistelli of her day, except that she was from Australia and people still bought music.  Now she is releasing a worship project titled I Will Praise You.

I Will Praise You starts off quite standardly with the title track, a pop song that would work easily on anything done by Hillsong.  The already classic Matt Redman song “You Never Let Go” is covered next, followed by the first radio single “Shine Your Glory Down”.  “You Still Amaze Me” is a mid-tempo track that plays off of “Amazing Grace”, as Rebecca St. James slowly works her way into ballad territory with “In A Moment” and “The Kindness of Our God”, which with her accent reminds me more and more of a female led Newsboys worship album, if such a thing were do ever exist.

I think we all enjoy a good story, so the Revelation backdrop to “When The Stars Burn Down (Blessings and Honor)” works pretty well for a worship song, knowing what kind of worship we look forward to giving in the Heavenly scene.  The songs seem to be getting slower and slower, as St. James’ voice is called upon to carry tracks like “Almighty God” and “You Hold Me Now” all on its own.  The album closes with one last piano ballad in a serenity prayer nod on “You Make Everything Beautiful”.

I guess this is pretty much what we should have come to expect from a worship album by Rebecca St. James.  I Will Praise You will sell well on name alone, but it is a simple and safe album that won’t surprise anyone in any way.

Grade: 2

Tracklisting:

  1. I Will Praise You
  2. You Never Let Go
  3. Shine Your Glory Down
  4. You Still Amaze Me
  5. In A Moment
  6. The Kindness of Our God
  7. When The Stars Burn Down (Blessings and Honor)
  8. Almighty God
  9. You Hold Me Now
  10. You Make Everything Beautiful

 

“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or
services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it
on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally
and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance
with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the
Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

