Flashback Friday


REALITY CHECK

The music industry is a strange beast. Styles and sounds coming to popularity then fading away as fast as they appeared. Some bands trudging along for 15-20 years without making it big, while others become huge with their first album. Reality Check is somewhat an example of the latter. I remember in the spring of 1997 listening to the mainstream alternative radio station on Sunday afternoons. They had a two hour long program dedicated to “christian rock” where they would play the top christian alternative, punk, modern rock, and heavy music songs according to the Pure Rock Report. On one of these occasions I heard a catchy, poppy, funky song called “Masquerade” by a new band called Reality Check. Every week I heard the song and fell more and more for it. On my birthday that year, I purchased their debut, self-titled album. It did not disappoint. The whole album was filled with grungy guitars, sweet rhymes, and melodic hooks that could catch a school of fish. I played this cassette non-stop for almost a year until the unthinkable happened. As I was flipping through the latest copy of 7Ball Magazine, I read that the band had broken up. I was flabbergasted. I couldn’t believe what that small print was telling me. So I had my mom check the bands website when she went to work the next day, the horrible news was confirmed. To put it into perspective, this was a big deal. At the time Reality Check were touring on one of the highest selling albums in Star Song Records history. They had two hit radio singles, and were considered to be the next DC Talk. A few years later, their frontman Nathan Barlowe reappeared with a cool new brit-pop band called Luna Halo, which I thoroughly enjoyed. At times the urge to listen to Reality Check pops up and I indulge that urge, all the while wondering what could have been. Reality Check were gone as fast as they arrived.

10 responses to “Flashback Friday

  1. Pingback: New Flashback Friday On CMZ « The Classic Christian Rock Site

  2. idontactuallyexist May 14, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    Nathan and Luna Halo are still around somewhere. They’ve been through some line-up changes, but they still exist. If you never got to see Reality Check live, I’m disappointed for you. Their live show was excellent. (Their tour bus was pretty cool too-Only one Iv’e ever been on. lol)

  3. chris May 15, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    i had this album. i love the song Carousel

  4. Andy K May 16, 2011 at 10:24 am

    I loved that CD too. I got to see Reality Check at a youth conference when I was in high school and I remember that they put on an exciting live show. I remember that they were all over the place and would do crazy flips and stuff on stage. I believe that they had a reputation of breaking stages at their concerts.

  5. david May 17, 2011 at 8:52 am

    Good flashback bro!
    I saw these guys a couple times – always awesome!
    The live show was even better than the album.

  6. david May 17, 2011 at 8:53 am

    also.. now nathan is playing with jared from bleach in a band called the honeymoon thrillers

  7. idontactuallyexist May 17, 2011 at 10:13 am

    Honeymoon Thrillers? I’ll have to check them out. Are they still Nashville-based? (I guess I’m more out of the current loop than I thought!)

  8. Tyler Hess May 17, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    ive heard them mention honeymoon thrillers quite a bit, have you heard them, david, any good?

  9. david May 17, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    i forgot.. i’ll listen again and give you some feedback

  10. david May 17, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    ok, it’s rock with a bit of a punk feel with traces of 50s rock and gang vocals
    the songs I’ve heard have horrible production – so I’m sure things will improve

Leave a Reply

