Making This Site Better…How Do You Get Here?


 I’m taking a bit of a break from this morning’s big project, which is making a staff page for the website, to ask a question in how else we can make this website better for you, the readers.

What I want to ask right now is how do you read CMZ?

Do you subscribe to our RSS?

Do you follow us on twitter and facebook?

Did you just come here by a random google search or how did you find us originally?

Do you come here to read a certain type of post: review, interview, news, editorials?

Do you come to the website every day? Every week? On accident once in awhile?

I want to make this website the best I possibly can within my ability.  There are certain things that we will probably never do that you like on other websites and there are hopefully things that we will do that other sites fall short on.  I’m constantly thinking of ways to make this site better than it has been and differentiate it from other websites within the resources that I have.

Your responses and suggestions mean the world to me.

Thank you all

Tyler Hess

Editor, Christian Music Zine.

9 responses to “Making This Site Better…How Do You Get Here?

  1. Scotty May 19, 2011 at 5:26 am

    I follow you on twitter and check the site once a week or so regardless. I use the twitter feed for news and the site itself for reviews and opinions. You guys do a great job considering you are one of the smaller sites out there. Keep up the good work.

  2. Andy K May 19, 2011 at 6:54 am

    I really have been enjoying the site recently, especially the Flashback Friday articles. I do think this site could use a little less CCM.

  3. Chris Alexander May 19, 2011 at 8:45 am

    I usually come here for the reviews. Since I’m not following this site on Twitter and I don’t know what RSS is, I use Facebook to direct me to this site.

    I kinda agree with Andy K in that a little less CCM would be nice.

    It would be great if this could mainly become an album review site. Sort of like Sputnik music, but for the Christian realm of music.

    I check the site a couple times a week to see what albums have been reviewed and I may click on a Facebook post that I find interesting.

    Thanks for the website!

  4. Tyler Hess May 19, 2011 at 8:55 am

    thanks for the thoughts, guys, I am taking everything in mind that you say

    Chris…are you in a kiss for jersey? I remember liking a song by a kiss for jersey a few years ago that I think was on an IVM sampler

  5. Chris Alexander May 19, 2011 at 9:46 am

    No I’m not. Just a huge fan.

  6. Justine May 19, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    I look at this site at least once a day. I love getting free music, and I found this site through thefreechristianmusicblog.com
    I am friends with the creator of the site, by the way. :)
    The free music that you post on here is what I want the most. I like the reviews as well, but the album art and track listing is only frustrating cuz I can’t hear the music. ;)
    I appreciate what you do, and God bless!

  7. Tyler Hess May 19, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    oh cool, Matt of tfcmb and I are pretty tight, we’ve been rec’ing each other for a couple years now I think

    if you like hearing samples, I plan on linking to amazon so that you can check out song samples there…but i know its frustrating, but building up anticipation is how things sell!

    i do try to put up free song downloads, but i know i can do better on that front

Leave a Reply

