Review: August Burns Red – Leveler | Christian Music Zine

Solid State Records

Released June 21 2011

Reviewed By Dan Allen

When a band has been around as long as August Burns Red new albums can become tricky things. I say this because we, as fans, have certain expectations: it should be different enough that their sound hasn’t gotten tired and boring, but at the same time we don’t want them totally reinventing their sound and ruining everything we like about them.

With Leveler, August Burns Red’s fourth album in their eight year history, the band finds themselves in that difficult position of trying to bring something new but familiar to their tracks. This new twelve track release has been greatly anticipated by ABR fans for several months now, since it was officially announced back in February. For those fans I think this album will satisfy a craving for more music, but I don’t believe it delivers anything extremely special over-and-above their standard sound.

Leveler is a standard metal album, starting things off with a nice driving song in Empire and continuing to pound the listener with forceful songs like Pangea and Salt and Light. I particularly found the added chaos quite pleasant in Divisions although that was pretty much the only song that seemed to venture into that arena. The instrumental 1-16-2011 was by far the biggest waste of track on the entire album and really served no purpose for it’s entire 52 seconds.

Lyrics are also pretty standard on this album with songs about trusting God in songs like Boys of Fall. The song is summed up in “He is God. We are just men. Who are we to question?” where the created man learns that he should not question his Creator. 40 Nights teaches the listener that sinful living won’t pay off because “You’re living for today, but your future is looking bleak. One day it’ll all come crashing down.” Not that these are inaccurate lyrics from a theological perspective, they just seem somewhat standard.

Overall I felt like Leveler was a satisfying release, but certainly not groundbreaking for ABR or the metal genre in general. Fans will be happy to hear some new material and casual metal fans will enjoy a good, high-quality, metal album. Someone looking for something new and intriguing will most likely be disappointed in what amounts to a rather textbook release.

Grade: 4


  1. Empire
  2. Internal Cannon
  3. Divisions
  4. Cutting The Ties
  5. Pangea
  6. Carpe Diem
  7. 40 Nights
  8. Salt & Light
  9. Poor Millionaire
  10. 1/16/2011
  11. Boys Of Fall
  12. Leveler

One response to “Review: August Burns Red – Leveler | Christian Music Zine

  1. Luxas June 21, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    Carpe Deim sounded very different than what their usual is and therefore my favorite on the album

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: