Excited About The Future Of CMZ And The Past | Christian Music Zine


It was just about three years ago when I began work on a blog called “The Buffalo Chronicles”, where I wrote music reviews for CD’s I had purchased, happy that I got ten people to read it.  Over those first few months I got pretty ambitious and did dozens of email interviews with any band who was kind enough to reply to a Myspace message.  It only took about 3 or 4 months to realize a couple things.  One was that I had enough people reading the blog to turn it into a real website, the other being that The Buffalo Chronicles was a stupid name for a website not based in upstate New York.

Thus, with twenty bucks and a lack of creativity for website naming, Christian Music Zine was born in late October 2008.  I moved everything over to the new website and continued doing the same things, writing reviews that a few people read and honing my blogging skills.  The ingredients to a website like this are really pretty simple, but there is a big difference between making yourself  Kraft Macaroni & Cheese and being a master chef, even if some people can’t tell.

I don’t know exactly where we are on that scale, but I do know that we have grown considerably over the years.  there are about 15 times more of you reading this website than there were a couple years ago.  Like most things, that was because of a lot of hard work and a lot of what the world would call “luck”.  We know that every good thing comes from God and that any “success” we’ve had has been His doing.

What started as nothing more than a hobby has slowly become something that I consider to be a ministry.  What started as a random blog that hardly anyone read now has several writers working on reviewing things that I don’t have any expertise in and doing real interviews and we’re even breaking news for music lovers.

Now we are at another turning point in the history of Christian Music Zine.  As much as I love writing, I equally have a lack of talent in graphic design and not enough of an understanding in designing websites.  That is why the website has never looked amazing and a big part of the reason why we’ve never been able to take it to the next level.  We are at the point where we need to take it there, so one of our writers is working faithfully in helping me make this site fit to the level it should be.  I’ll talk more about our efforts on that when we launch the new design so that I can talk about all that went into it and give credit where credit is due.

I want to do this thing full time.  I love being able to provide a service to all of you, to the bands that we promote and to all the people that work in this industry and in doing that, serving our God.  I want to dedicate more time and concentrated effort on getting the best stuff out there for you all.  I want to use the gifts that He has given me and the staff to edify you all and if possible help spread the Gospel.

I don’t know how long any of this will take.  I don’t know when the new design will launch or when I’ll be able to do this full time.

I do know that I can’t do this alone.  I pray daily that I make the right decisions for CMZ, that I do it faithfully to God and that it is a service to you all.  I also need you all to help, by spreading the word about CMZ to your friends and acquaintances, by forwarding links and re-tweeting us on Twitter.  I need your prayer, too…and your input and ideas…and even news submissions.

What would you like to see implemented into Christian Music Zine?  How can we get better?

Leave a Reply

